Chicken Curry

Indians living abroad do not care much for chicken as they do for goat or lamb because chicken doesn’t taste as good here as it does back home! In India, you get it fresh from your local butcher’s and is normally cooked instantly, whereas here we have to rely on packaged poultry products with an expiry date on them…which then we freeze as soon as we get home!!  Having lived here long enough I have learnt that it  is better to buy small game hens that come frozen but they taste much better than the broiler chickens. 

 game hen

The only hassle is they come whole and you have to cut them up yourself!! The first time I cut up a chicken I had no idea what I was doing…but over the years have learnt the tips and tricks of cutting up a whole chicken. I do not enjoy this part of cooking AT ALL, in fact I dread it!! 😦

Marinated Chicken

 This is just one way of making Chicken Curry, a world wide favorite in Indian cuisine….

Chicken curry - last boil 

You can see the curry boiling….

Chicken Curry

Simple and quick recipe for Chicken Curry:

Marinade chicken pieces in yogurt, garlic and ginger paste, turmeric and salt for 2-3 hours. Fry one medium onion sliced, until brown and grind the fried onion with a little water. Heat some oil in a pan and temper it with whole masalas (cloves, cinnamon, bay leaves).  Add the onion paste with ginger/garlic paste. Add salt and fry until further brown. Add a tsp of turmeric, chilli, coriander powder and 4 tbsp sour cream to the fried onion paste. Stir for a  minute.  Add the chicken pieces and mix well. Cook covered for 5 min on low flame. Uncover, stir the chicken pieces and cover again for 5 more min. After that I check every couple minutes to see if the masala looks fried, the oil has separated and the chicken pieces look golden in color…I also make sure the curry doesn’t dry up! Serve with hot rice or rotis. I made this to go with rotis as my kids love roti with chicken…